

# ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING ATTENDANCE WEDNESDAY, MAY 29<sup>TH</sup>, 2019 1:30 PM – 2:30 PM EST HERITAGE ROOM BUILDING 3 ROYAL CANADIAN PACIFIC) E.H.H. CAMPUS 7550 OGDEN DALE RD SE, CALGARY, AB T2C 4X9

# **PRESENT**

No.	Name (Please Print)	Company	Attendee (Yes)
1.	Sylvia Newell	CARS	Yes
2.	Kim Carvell	CARS	Yes
3.	Chris Chetty	CAD Railway Industries Ltd.	Yes
4.	Kirt van der Woude	Challenger Geomatics Ltd.	Yes
5.	Chuck Eason	Consolequip Inc.	Yes
6.	Andrew Eason	Consolequip Inc.	Yes
7.	Annie Leblanc	DLL Inc.	Yes
8.	Ben Lefebvre	Electro-Techno Inc.	Yes
9.	RD Brown	Geismar Modern Track Machinery Canada Ltd.	Yes
10.	Tony Origer	Harsco Rail	Yes
11.	Taylor MacDonald	Herzog Railroad Services of Canada Ltd.	Yes
12.	Rex Everard	Herzog Railroad Services of Canada Ltd.	Yes
13.	Shawn Malott	Herzog Railroad Services of Canada Ltd.	Yes
14.	Tony Winter	Holland LP	Yes
15.	Ross Gehl	Holland LP	Yes
16.	Brian Richards	ILJIN – USA Bearing ART	Yes
17.	John Marks	LEJAK & Associates, Inc.	Yes
18.	Keith Gilbert	Motor Coils Manufacturing Ltd.	Yes
19.	Ewan Abbott	Nabson Industries, Inc.	Yes
20.	Jason Tillmanns	National Steel Car Limited	Yes
21.	Jason Klukas	National Steel Car Limited	Yes
22.	Greg Dodds	New York Air Brake	Yes
23.	Bill Gallagher	New York Air Brake	Yes
24.	Gordon Strilchuk	PNR RailWorks Inc.	Yes
25.	Al Schroeder	PNR RailWorks Inc.	Yes
26.	Jason Fries	Rail Term	Yes
27.		Remcan Projects LP	Yes
28.	Curtis Medwid	Ronsco Inc.	Yes
29.	'	Ronsco Inc.	Yes
30.	Robert Grassby	Strato Inc.	Yes
31.	Yvonne Fei	Sumitomo Canada Ltd.	Yes
32.	3	Timken Canada	Yes
33.	Lisa Tuningley	T-Rail Products Inc.	Yes
34.	Sarah Leonardo	T-Rail Products Inc.	Yes
35.	Bill Whitford	Wabtec Corporation	Yes
36.	Susan Barrie	Wells Fargo Rail	Yes
37.	Scott Steppe	ZTR Control Systems	Yes

#### 1. Reading of Notice

Sylvia Newell declared the meeting duly constituted as notice had been given as required by our by- laws. Sylvia Newell appointed Kim Carvell as secretary of the meeting.

#### 2. Approval of Agenda

The agenda for the meeting was approved as presented on a motion made by Denis Robillard and seconded by Brian Richards. All in favor.

#### 3. Review and Approval of Minutes of June 11, 2018

The minutes of June 6<sup>th</sup>, 2017 were approved as presented on a motion by Greg Dodds and seconded by. All in favor.

# 4. President, Board of Director's Report

Sylvia gave the president's report. She acknowledged that CARS has accomplished a lot in the past year. CARS has re-branded their association logo for the website, letterhead, envelopes and new membership certificates. Government Relations work being done by hiring Frank Bognar to help with Trade agreements and also building strong relationships with CP, Transit, Government and Global Affairs to help out with international trade and organizations that are not even part of our industry. Branching out to different organizations such as Women Building Futures that help women get back into the workforce taking up different trades. Tariff letters were sent out and wrote the Government as well. CN Breakfast in 2018 was a great success which included Toronto Transit Commission (TTC) and Transport Canada. Annual CP Lunch being held today. CARS Golf Tournament and NRD event will be in 2019 and the Golf Tournament will have a guest by the name of Howard Green who is an author and the NRD event will have a tradeshow component which has also been sold out. There was a CARS/AMIK Cultural Awareness Workshop planned but due to a low attendance was cancelled. CARS has launched a new Website. CARS has a daily track and magazine sent out every morning. CARS has the following Government Relations and International Trade, Scholarship, Marketing and Membership and the Western Committees.

#### 5. Financial Report

Sylvia reported that CARS is in a very strong financial position. Copies are available from Sylvia Newell.

## 6. Appointment of Auditors

On a motion made by Denis Robillard and seconded by Susan Barrie. Mitchell & Holmes, Ross Holmes has been appointed as the auditor who will be replacing Atul Dilawri, CPA, CA of D & C Professional Corporation as the auditor for 2019. All in favor.

# 7. Election of Directors

Sylvia Newell presented the Board nominations report, the increase in candidates was noted. she proposed that be put forth to serve, and that the following be elected as new board members for 3-year terms.

Annie Leblanc, Manager DLL Inc.

William Whitford, Director of Marketing and Sales Wabtec Corporation

On a motion made by Susan Barrie and seconded by Jason Tillmanns the nominations were approved. All in favor.

### 8. Other Business

None

# 9. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned on a motion made by Keith Gilbert and seconded by Patrik Eliasson. All in favor.

#### **Action Items**

1. Sylvia will keep the members posted about the Financial Report from the Accountant.